top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSsanyu Sematimba

Love

Have you ever heard the saying “ you win some, you lose some”? Now I actually don’t like this saying, because I don’t believe in losing. I do not like to lose. I know most people believe that we are able to learn from the battles we lose but lets be honest with ourselves now… Winning feels a whole lot better than losing.

Now as you can tell I am extremely competitive, I used to be very bad, but I’m getting better ( I keep telling myself that).Even though I am competitive I am not stupidly competitive. Stupidly competitive means that I am not competitive in things I know I suck at. Like for instance I am not going to try and compete and beat a national swimmer. Like that’s not my thing. I don’t like getting my hair wet, and I am not very fast in the pool.

I have the cutest little cousins they are both under the age of 8. They too are very competitive (seems like it runs in the family), but you see sometimes they are stupidly competitive. My little cousins love proving their strength to me. Now I know that I am not the strongest of people, but I know for sure that I am definitely stronger than them. Now every single time I see them there is a constant battle with them, because they are constantly trying to prove how much stronger they are than me. Obviously this is so pointless, because I am obviously stronger than them. Its pointless, because they are trying to prove something that is physically impossible.

We do the exact same thing with God we constantly look for new ways to impress God. We set out new goals, we become “nicer” people, we read our bible more, we help the poor we do a whole bunch of “stuff” so that we can impress God. Now I’m not saying that we shouldn’t do all these wonderful and beautiful things, but being a Christian is not about being a good person, being a Christian is not about impressing God with all your wonderful deeds. Being a Christian is about accepting Grace, His love, accepting Christ and sharing that with the rest of the world.

I am so sad to inform you, but you can’t, and will never be able to impress God, because anything you do God can do better, in fact God can do it about 5 bazillion times better than you. The only thing that God is impressed by is by  His son Jesus, and that’s why He sent His son down for us, so that He could die for us. When Jesus died for us, He literally took our place, and now instead of God seeing how nonsense we are as a creation the only thing He sees is His son.

So many people live under the impression that being a Christian is about living a good and pure life. That would be the case if we lived BC (Before Christ), but luckily we don’t! We now live by Grace.

It would be literally impossible for us to live a sinless life; I mean we screwed up in the beginning (Garden of Eden – Fall of Man). God loves us, and He knows that we are imperfect beings, He knows that we mess up, He knows that we cant live according to law.

Now I don’t want you to think that sin is okay, God hates sin. He hates sin so much because of what it does to us, sin ruins us, it ruins every aspect of our being. His son was killed because of our sin. Sin actually separates us from God, and God really hates being separated from us He’s kinda got separation anxiety, but he’s taken it to the extreme. He hates being separated from us so much that He sent His own son to die for us, so that we are able to connect with Him.

There is nothing that you can say or do that will separate you from the love of God. There is nothing that you can do more for God to love you more or less, His love for you is eternal, and it’s unconditional.

Now that you know how much God loves you, what exactly do you do with that love? It’s simple all you need to do is accept it, and focus on His love, for you focus on Jesus.The more we focus on Jesus the more we begin to fall in love with Him. We become closer to Him, we begin to understand Him, and we understand that He in fact is Grace. We begin to understand how much He loves us. When we understand Him more we want to become like him, therefore we sin less. So the issue of you become a better person happens naturally.

So no Christianity is not about living the perfect life, and proving to God and to the rest of the world of how amazingly righteous we are. If you actually think about it most Christians are the real messed up ones (hence why we need Jesus so much). Its all about love. We are here because of God’s love, so we love Him and love others. Once you understand that part, the rest will follow. Living a righteous life becomes way easier, because you understand the love of God. It all about understanding how much God loves you instead of trying to earn His love.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page