top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSsanyu Sematimba

Race

Winning is an amazing feeling! There is nothing like beating someone in something. You learn so much about yourself when you win.  You get to learn about how awesome you are!  Okay so you can obviously tell that I am extremely competitive.  I love winning! I mean who likes losing? What do you learn from losing?! Some people believe that you learn about life and yourself when you lose, because; “ its good to learn from your mistakes bla bla bla”. I strongly disagree with that! In fact I would rather learn nothing and win, then learn a lot and lose! Okay I think I am getting too carried away. I'm basically trying to tell you that I am extremely competitive, and it doesn’t help that ALL my friends are extremely competitive to!

I love going for evening jogs, I am not one of those people that you can relate to when you speak about how much you hate running, and how you taste blood in your throat, and hate it. I love that! I love the burn, I love the pain, I just genuinely love running and exercising in general. I just don’t like the pain you experience the morning after. When I go to the gym, I am always on a mission. I tend to scan the room, and look for my opponent of the day. I normally find my competition on the treadmill (because cardio always comes first). The minute I step onto the treadmill, the race has begun! Best believe that I will always be 0.5 faster than whoever I am running next to.

It’s always been like this, I always compete with people even if they aren’t aware of the unspoken battle. I always make sure that I am a step ahead of them.

The other day I was thinking about my stupidity, and I began to think about how although we are all running a race, we all have different outcomes.  For example I could be running to get fit, someone could be running to lose weight, and another person could be running to warm up. The funniest part about all of this is that I am the fool trying to beat everyone at his or her own race, but mine. I am not focusing on my race, but focusing on other people’s races.  

There is always an intention behind running. Whether it is that we are running, because we are running away from something or running to something. We always run with a specific intention in mind.

Isaiah 40:31 NIV 

“but those who hope in the Lord

will renew their strength.

They will soar on wings like eagles;

they will run and not grow weary,

they will walk and not be faint”

You see life is like a race, meaning that in life we are all running towards achieving a specific reason. Just like how I mentioned that you couldn’t run with an intention or outcome in mind. You cannot live life without an intention, goal or dream. If you are running your race without an intention you become tired, because inevitably you are running for nothing. There is no drive, purpose, intention or fuel behind you running. God has given us all a specific race to run, they all differ. Note that in the scripture it states that you will run and not grow weary.  This means that if you are running the right race, the race that God initially designed you to run there is a fat chance that you will not grow weary. Simply because He has designed you to run that specific race. He has equipped and designed you to run that race. He has and will continue to fuel and equip you with specific to skills to help you run and finish your race. You should never grow weary when you are running the race God has designed you to run.

So then why do we get tired?

If you are tired, and exhausted and so depleted that you can no longer see the purpose of your running this could be happening for 2 reasons.

Your race is done

You aren’t running your own race.

Some of us are still running a race that was done a long time ago. Stop running the race, and enjoy your victory. Some of us are running a race that we were never called to run. We are not equipped, designed or created to run that race! Obviously we are going to get tired.

I would like you to look at your life, and to look at what is troubling you, look at what is making you tired, and assess the situation. The bible states that we will walk and not go faint. Most of us think, that because life is a race, we now need to run the entire race. Before we run, we need to learn how to walk. There is a process in life, and we need to make sure that we take all the necessary steps. Some of us know that we are running the right race, but we are so tired, because we have only been running our race. Just because you are walking now it doesn’t mean that you aren’t moving. Walking, jogging or running you are still moving forward. The problem starts when you stop moving.

Life is a race that we are all running. Some of us are walking; some jogging and some are even running. Although we may run our races differently we are all moving forward.

Isaiah 40:31 NIV 

“but those who hope in the Lord

will renew their strength.

They will soar on wings like eagles;

they will run and not grow weary,

they will walk and not be faint”


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Love

bottom of page